The renewable energy sector was notified in a short note at 16:25 on Friday that the financial close of 37 outstanding independent power projects (IPPs) would not take place on Tuesday April 11 as planned.
No new date has been set and the only reason forwarded by the Department of Energy’s IPP office was “to allow the new Minister of Energy to consult with stakeholders including the Minister of Public Enterprises.”
This follows President Jacob Zuma’s removal of former energy minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson from cabinet on March 31. She was replaced by Mmamoloko Kubayi. Former finance minister Pravin Gordhan was replaced by Malusi Gigaba.